Welcome Allie, Mech and Bobby!

 

A big welcome to Allie Urbanek and Mechelle Kneidinger, apprentices in the 2012 Community Gardening Leadership Training, and Bobby Cressman, apprentice in the “Fresh Food on the Table” program.

Read their column “The New Farmer” HERE!

  

Hello New Friends!

It is my extreme pleasure to land in your active South Whidbey community as a Good Cheer Food Bank “Community Garden Leadership Apprentice.”

Six months ago, upon finishing my last job as a School Garden Supervisor in Fairbanks, AK, I scoured the internet for food bank farms, which fortunately exist in numerous towns around the country.  Discovering Good Cheer left me certain that this apprenticeship is an ideal opportunity to develop my abilities growing food with and for the people.  Read the rest of Allie’s intro HERE

 

Howdy! Ok, even though I am from Nashville, I only use that word when I’m really excited to greet someone… such as the people of South Whidbey!

My name is Mechelle (you can call me Mech or “meesh”), and I’m here as one of the new apprentices for the Good Cheer Garden, the Westgarden at Whidbey Institute, and other projects around the island.  Read the rest of Mech’s intro HERE

 

Hey Y’all!

It is a pleasure to be serving the folks of South Whidbey at this unique and wonderful thing called the Good Cheer Food Bank.

Where to start…I have just recently hailed from Portland, Oregon, where I was studying at Portland State University. I have worked on a Master’s in science teaching, focusing my research on garden based education in a high school for the visually impaired.  Read the rest of Bobby’s intro HERE